Over the last century, many Rhodes Scholars have served in elective public office in countries around the world. These include several heads of government, or of state.

The list below is of those we know to be serving currently in elective office. Please help us make it comprehensive, and keep it up to date, by emailing information to development@rhodeshouse.ox.ac.uk


  •  Malcolm Turnbull (New South Wales & Brasenose 1978) - Prime Minister of Australia
  •  Tony Abbott (New South Wales & Queen's 1981) - Member of Parliament


  • Randy Boissannault (Prairies & Corpus Christi 1994) –  Member of Parliament in Canada, for the Liberal Party
  • Chrystia Freeland (Prairies & St Antony's 1991) - Member of Parliament in Canada, for the Liberal Party, and serving as Minister of International Trade
  • Eric Hoskins (Ontario & Balliol 1986) –  Member of Parliament in Canada, for the Liberal Party
  • Craig Scott (Maritimes & St John's 1984) - Member of Parliament in Canada, for the New Democratic Party
  • Andrew Wilkinson (Prairies & Magdalen 1980) – Minister for Technology, Innovation and Citizens' Service in the British Columbia Cabinet, Member of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia
  • Jonathan Wilkinson (Prairies & Exeter 1988) - Member of Parliament in Canada, for the Liberal Party 

Commonwealth Caribbean 

  • Richard Skerritt (British Caribbean & Keble 1980) - Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport for St Kitts Nevis 


  • Delroy Chuck (Jamaica & St Catherine's 1973) - Member of Parliament and Opposition Spokesman on Justice
  • Revd Ronald Thwaites (Jamaica & Campion Hall 1968) – Minister for Education in Jamaica


  • Sivarasa Rasiah (Malaysia & St Anne's 1980) - Member of Parliament in Malaysia, vice-president for the Parti Keadilan Rakyat (People's Justice Party)


  • Louis Grech (Malta & Balliol 1970) - Deputy Prime Minister of Malta, Minister of European Affairs, Deputy Leader for Parliamentary Affairs of the Labour Party

New Zealand

  • Holly Walker (New Zealand & University 2007) – Member of Parliament in New Zealand, for the Green Party


  • Raymond Lim (Singapore & Balliol 1984) – Member of Parliament in Singapore, for the People’s Action Party
  • Chen Show-Mao (Singapore & Corpus Christi 1986) – Member of Parliament in Singapore, for the Workers’ Party

Sri Lanka

  • Gamini Peiris (Ceylon & New College 1968)Cabinet Minister of External Affairs and Member of Parliament


  • Cory Booker (New Jersey & Queen’s 1992) – Senator for New Jersey (Democrat)
  • Knute Buehler (Oregon & Merton 1988) - Member-elect of the Oregon House of Representatives, representing District 54 (Republican)
  • Peter Buttigieg (Indiana & Pembroke 2005) – Mayor of South Bend, Indiana (Democrat)
  • Jim Cooper (Tennessee & Oriel 1975) – Member of the U.S. House of Representatives, for Tennessee (Democrat)
  • Eric Garcetti (New York & Queen's 1993) – Mayor of Los Angeles
  • Cyrus Habib (Washington & St John’s 2003) – Member of the Washington State House of Representatives (Democrat), elected to the Washington State Senate for District 48 starting January 2015
  • Drew Hansen (Washington & Magdalen 1995) - Member of the Washington House of Representatives (Democrat)
  • Jim Himes (New Jersey & St Edmund Hall 1988) - Member of the U.S. House of Representatives, for Connecticut (Democrat)
  • Bobby Jindal (Louisiana & New College 1992) – Governor of Louisiana (Republican)
  • Gina Raimondo (Rhode Island & New College 1993) – Elected Governor of Rhode Island, the first woman to gain that post (Democrat) starting January 2015
  • David Vitter (Louisiana & Magdalen 1983) – United States Senator for Louisiana (Republican)
  • Dayne Walling (Michigan & St Peter’s 1996) – Mayor of Flint, Michigan (Democrat)


  • Arthur Mutambara (Zimbabwe & Merton 1991) – Deputy Prime Minister of Zimbabwe