Please alert us to recent appointments or awards of any Rhodes Scholars by emailing or use the Rhodes Scholar Information Update form here.

The Rhodes community extends warm congratulations to Scholars listed below on their appointments and awards.

VINESH RAJPAUL (South African College School, Newlands & Merton 2013)

Recognised by two major photographic competitions in just one week: runner Up in Wanderlust/Independent Newspaper’s annual competition and also named the Nikon UK Citizen Photographer of the Year at the Picture Editors’ Guild award ceremony in London. Read more.

ASHTON CARTER (Connecticut & St John's 1976)

Sworn in as the 25th US Secretary of Defense. Read more.

ABIGAIL SELDIN (Pennsylvania & St Antony's 2009)

Named in the 2015 Forbes 30under30 education category, co-founder of College Abacus. Read more.

PROFESSOR SIR JOHN BELL (Alberta & Magdalen 1975)

Appointed GBE for services to medicine, medical research and the UK life science industry in the 2015 New Year's Honours List. Sir John has pioneered the development of genomic and genetic research programmes across the UK. Read more.

JAMES BARNES (Minnesota & New College 1954)

Named a recipient of the 2014 Eli Lilly Lifetime Achievement Award given by the Indiana Historical Society.

DEACON TURNER (Oklahoma & New College 1991)

Appointed a Trustee of the National Museum of the American Indian. Read more

BEN RIMMER (Victoria & Balliol 1997)

Appointed Chief Executive of the City of Melbourne. Read more.

LEANA WEN (Missouri & Merton 2007)

Appointed Health Commissioner for Baltimore. Read more.

PETER BINKS (Tasmania & St John's 1983)

Appointed inaugural Director of the new Wade Institute for Entrepreneurship at Ormond College, University of Melbourne. Read more.

ERIC GREITENS (Missouri & Lady Margaret Hall 1996)

The Center for Public Leadership at Harvard Kennedy School has named him as recipient of this year's Gleitsman Citizen Activist Award. Read more.